Worth reading : How to be genius

The key factor separating geniuses from the merely accomplished is not a divine spark. It’s not I.Q., a generally bad predictor of success, even in realms like chess. Instead, it’s deliberate practice. Top performers spend more hours (many more hours) rigorously practicing their craft.

Source: Genius: The Modern View

The key word here is ‘latest research’. My grand pa told my pa that only way to succeed in life is hardwork. My father conveyd me what he inherited from his father. And I beleive in him. Then one fine day ceratin ‘Mr Research’ same from no where screaming that  what I am trying to acheive is beyond my ‘IQ’. IQ  was his measure of ‘music’  in me and suggested me to focus on something consistent with my IQ.

Few years later when Mr. Research got  older, famous (or infamous) a new Mr Research took his position. This guy too has done his research in geniousness and his finding was that IQ is not the right measure of a genius. To him it’s  ‘EQ’. I was already frustrated with my low ‘IQ’. New Mr research gave me new  hope and his theory promised (sold) me a better future.

Since I was too focused on listening these gentlemen I lost much time I had committed for my work and my performance took a hit. To compensate I ignored these guys for a while and worked harder. I was surprised with the results. Not only I made great progress in my work my EQ and IQ also improved.In fact, moreI worked  better I performed. Neither IQ nor EQ but hard work seems working for me. I decided to continue with my new finding i.e working harder.

Leave a Reply

