Jaipur Trip

Last weekend I had wonderful two days at Jaipur. This visit was long due . I was interested  to rediscover my rajputana lineage. I really liked pink city. Weather was cool  (atleast for two day stay)and people were friendly. I used public transport throught my trip and was happy with survices of Rajasthan  roadways although buses never stalled at designated bus stops.

I stayed with Tabish at Malviya Nagar area, one of  the better developed region of  Jaipur with wide roads and greenery. Pink city is realy pink and well planed.

First dayI spent visiting some parts of pink city and Amar fort. Second day we finised Jaigarh fort , Jal mahal and City palace. 

Amar fort is huge and beautiful. But Rajput blood in me got real kick in war museum in City palace and Jiagarh fort where they keep the weapons and war suits used by warriors. You read about them in Epics and watch them in hollywood movies but nothing can beat the the experience you have watching those heavy duty swords and bades live , feeling ther weight in your eyes. Unfortunely you canot take photos there.

I suggest you to hire guides as they help to understand social and cultural history behind  architectures and monuments. Fortunetly they are very friendly and cheap in Jaipur . Forts are outside main jaipur city ( around 30 min ride by bus) and surprisingly there is no decent Motel or Dhaba around  so better you pack your own lunch before leave hotel. There is one CCD (Cafe coffee day ) in Amar fort.

Due to sudden change of plans third day I was not able to visit Choki Dhaani famous for its authentic Rajasthani food. Will make sure to keep that high priority in my next visit.

Leave a Reply

