Is Prasoon Joshi the new Anu Malik?

I dont know. I was listening   this very beautiful song from movie Delhi6 on youtube and I find this comment

Prasun joshi stole this song. This is a folk chhattisgarhi song. It was the composition by late Gangaram Shivare and the singer was Bhularam yadav of this folk song. Later on Ramadutt Joshi, Dr. Rekha Joshi and Prabhadutt sang this folk song in 1970. Shame to Parson Joshi and Rehman – you even not thanked the real artists of chhattisgarh.
Commenter had done his homework as has given all the right infomation required to verify his claim.
 
Song is really cool and if you have some countryside experience you will definitely going to like it. When I listened this song  on Meow FM station I immediatly google it to find more about it. For any lyrist to  write such lyrics you not only require amazing creativity but also should have deep roots and  first hand experience of  indian culture. I was quite surprised when I find  that songs’s lyrists is Prasoon Joshi ( for composer  I  guessed  it right i.e the one and only A.R rahman). But for lyrist I was expecting Gulzar or Javed. Then I googled for Prasson Joshi ( baal ki khal nikaalney ki purani aadat hai 😉 ) I didt get much about his background and I made note to  follow more of his work. I was very much impressed.
 
And today I read this comment. I am not sure how true this comment is but I am just wondering what if Prasson turn out to be yet another Anu Malik.
 
8 Comments »

  1. Kunaal sinha said

    this is untrue. the director and lyrcists and the msuci directorhave openly said( cnn ibn making od music of rang de bvaant) that it is a folk song wherein prasoon joshi ahs written additional lyrcis and AR and rajat dholakia provided new dimesion to existing tune. checked teh cd cover- in credits it says tradtional. ROMP, AR rehamn and Prasoon Joshi are maestros they will never stoop so low.

  2. Kunaal sinha said

    sorry I mean making of music of delhi 6 on cnn ibn. yes this very previosu teams work is RDB also.

  3. kavita said

    wel well well it seems you are really doing a baal kikhaal thingy here my friend do not just star writing anything about anyone see the good side of things we got hear some good folk music and as far as your blaming these people is concerned i think other stuff in delhi 6 and their other work is great enough for us not jump to such cnclsns,and yes kunal i just watched the stuff you refered to and you are right due credits have been given we had many folk songs in the past like nibuda nibuda which were great too.

  4. satpal said

    @ Kunal
    Thamks for sharing that info. I was not aware of facts you mention.

    @kavita
    I am sry but I guess its you not me who is getting too judgemental. I openly express my ‘cconcern’ and not at all against the work or its quality. And if I am not wrong nibuda nubuda song did made news for being ripped off without givien due credits to its owners .For more info read this http://www.hindu.com/2008/04/08/stories/2008040861340400.htm

  5. Nimesh said

    just a thought No offence meant but why wasn’t the title is AR the new Anu mallik?? Isn’t the basic tune the same as the folk song of chattisgarh and the credit given to AR and ranjit dolkia? Guess its our great indian mentality of not being able to say anything against a rising (oscar) star! But seriously this is not to offend the great AR – he is a genius. but just found the title of your blog a little incongrous. also it is kind of defamatory in nature considering what kunal sinha has written.

  6. Deepti said

    Prasoon Joshi is a wonderful lyricist. Check tare Zameen Par, rang De Basanti, Hum Tum and many more….. It has been credited as traditional. The very tune and words very clearly show that its a folk song. So, there shouldn’t be any complaints…

    • unpopular said

      also check out his fanaah and great ads like coke ones with amir

  7. Deepti said

    Prasoon Joshi is a wonderful lyricist. Check tare Zameen Par, rang De Basanti, Hum Tum and many more…..

    The song mentioned has been credited as traditional. The very tune and words very clearly show that its a folk song. So, there shouldn’t be any complaints

    Request: Please do not approve my earlier comment.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

