Year 2008 :Books

Best book of the year 2008. Reading this was like having intellectual orgasm.

Best read of the year 2008. Reading this was like having intellectual orgasm.

Year 2008 was a good year for my Library. I added around 150+ book to my collection , most of which were hardcovers editions. Unfortunately I manage to read very few books. This year I did more online reading then offline. I would definitely like to improve this equations. Moreover I observed a significant change in my reading taste. I moved-on from reading managment/business/leadership/self-help/formula based books to more deeper subject of human behaviour,philosophy (self-interest,morality,altruism,rationality,religion),quantum physics(butterfly effect,causality,entropy), Behaviourial economics (game theory,choas theory) and classic fiction. I attribute this shift to brilliant essays and articles by Robert I. Sutton ( Author Hard Facts) ,Steven D. Levitt (Author Freakonomics) and Nassim Nicholas Taleb (Author Black Swan) I read this year.

1. The Money Game by Adam Smith
If I have to recommend one book that gives best intro to investment world ,I will recommend ‘The money game’. Awesome book. It gives a unbiased and holistic picture of whole investing world.Highly recommend.
2. Origins of the Crash: The Great Bubble and Its Undoing by Roger Lowenstein
This book made Roger one of my fav author. Bold,factual and thought provoking invastigation of internet bubble.After reading this book no one will never be able to fully trust any commercial institution or managment of a company.
3. Bombardiers: A Novel by Po Bronson
4. Airframe: A Novel by Michael Crichton
5. Daughter of Fortune: A Novel (P.S.) by Isabel Allende
6. The Naked Manager by Robert Townsend
Recommended
7. The Logic of Life: The Rational Economics of an Irrational World: Tim Harford
Recommended.
8. The Age of Paradox: Charles Handy
Recommended.
9. Enterprise One to One by Don Peppers and Martha Rogers
10. Perfect Enough: Carly Fiorina and the Reinvention of Hewlett-Packard by George Anders
Reading this book was bad idea. Badly written and lacking depth.

Leave a Reply

